Guest Feedback

Many thanks to our guests for their kind words about Elmet Farmhouse

 

Click here to read more Elmet reviews via Sawday’s Special Places to Stay

‘Perfection – you have surpassed yourself. Landlady of the Year! And we’ve discovered a corner of England we didn’t know, so Brontëholics are we. Thank you for everything!’ (Richard and Sally, Shepton Beauchamp, Somerset, October 2017)

‘What wonderful views with complete comfort and every detail considered and provided. It has been the perfect place for the Yorkshire family get together. How do you keep the towels so white and soft? It must be that magic water and wind across the tops. Thank you so much.’ (Janet, Margaret and James, Dorset, October 2017)

‘We loved our stay at the Elmet House! What a special and beautiful place! Thank you so much for your attentiveness and hospitality. We will definitely recommend it to everyone we know!’ (Lauren, Matthew and their three girls, Texas, US, September 2017)

‘Lovely house with every detail taken into consideration. We had scones and jam waiting for us on arrival – they were delicious. The design of the house was charming with lovely wallpaper. Really relaxed with beautiful surroundings. So hilly it makes your ears pop!!’ (Abi, Gemma, Holly, Theo, Emma, Felix and Celeste, London, September 2017)

‘We spent a fantastic long weekend at Elmet with friends. The scenery was breathtaking and we had a wonderful meal outside overlooking the Yorkshire countryside. Thank you for your hospitality and helpful advice on the walking routes. We loved staying here! (Conor, Cazius, Lucille, Russell, Alan and Andy, Kenilworth, Warwickshire, August 2017)

‘We have spent a very special week here with family and friends in your wonderfully curated, amazingly well-equipped and extremely comfortable house. The house has framed our holiday and we have followed the excellent guidance and information… We have become immersed! We would particularly highlight a walk we did from the from local walks folder: Hardcastle Crags: Blake Dean – Gibson Mill Loop (mill, mill pond, moor, mossy rocks, ferns and waterfalls). Thank you – your house and welcome have been an absolute pleasure. (Emma, Douglas, Mia, Tom, Em, Sue and Solveig, Lewes, East Sussex, August 2017)

‘We have had a wonderful week at Elmet. It’s such as beautiful part of the world, and the house was lovely to return to at the end of each day. Even with six adults, there was plenty of room. The house had everything we needed – I particularly enjoyed browsing through the books on history and artists from the area. So glad we found this place. (Jane, Bill and Bella, Sydney, Australia, August 2017)

‘We had a fantastic time here. The house is so comfortable and lovely. We went on several beautiful walks – thank you for your superb instructions! We visited Hebden, Heptonstall amd Ilkley, which are all great towns – very pretty indeed. All highly recommended. (Claire and James, Oxford, August 2017)

‘These are a few of our favourite things… Blue skies… Walking to Gibson Mill [Hardcastle Crags]… Steak pie at the Waggon & Horses [Oxenhope]… Windswept Stoodley Pike… The Hepworth at Wakefield… Lumb Falls… The cow on the brow… Board games with the family.’ (Sue, Andy, Archie and Johnnie, Cambridgeshire, August 2017)

‘Wow! Fantastic house, location and local pub! Love your house, design and colour schemes. Wonderful. Thank you for sharing and making our week the best.’ (Audrey and family, Bourton on the Water, Gloucestershire, July 2017)

‘Elmet is such a special place: the views are fantastic and you can go walking from the door, but what really sets it apart is the expert eye with which the owner has decorated the farmhouse in mid-century style and her care in thinking about everything you need for an enjoyable stay, from a well-equipped kitchen to books and classic games. One of my party described it as simply the best holiday home she had ever stayed in. There is a beautifully-planted garden from which to enjoy the view. And the Hebden Bridge bus stops at the end of the drive, so you can go even if you don’t have a car.’ (Review on Sawday’s from Susannah, London, July 2017)

‘Thank you so much for all your hospitality, from the welcome scones to Elmet’s beautifully designed spaces, the delightful garden, your home-grown rhubarb and all your helpful advice about walks and places to visit.We very much hope to return.’ (Susannah, London, July 2017)

‘The landscape, architecture and artists are such an inspiration – the moors and meadows and crags and walls, the light and those who expressed the spirit of the place – David Hockney, the Brontës, Ted Hughes – and your lovely and hospitable Elmet. Thank you.’ (Pat, Philadelphia, US, July 2017)

‘I’ve never been in a holiday cottage so beautifully put together. Yorkshire has been magnificent both in landscape and culture. ‘ (Jane, US, July 2017)

‘A very enjoyable week in an exquisite home. I very much hope to be back for more walks, beautiful views and swallow-watching.’ (Irene, Manchester, July 2017)

‘We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautifully appointed farmhouse. We had a very relaxing stay with walks around the countryside and superb weather. Not enough time to explore all that the area has to offer. A real gem of a find!’ (Helen, Jim, Abbey and Alistair, Albany, Australia and London, June 2017)

‘Had a lovely time here. A great farmhouse equipped with everything you need. The weather was nice so that we could appreciate the lovely views. The large kitchen enabled six people to sit comfortably together for our meals. Very nice living room and bedrooms. Had a lot of fun playing Bagatelle.’ (Keith, Kevin, Tanya, Marco, Martina and Steffi, Hohenlimburg, Germany, June 2017)

‘Thank you for our stay in Elmet. The cottage was immaculate and beautiful and cosy. We’ve had lovely weather so we’ve seen the area in awesome late spring conditions. Our trips included exploring the village of Linton in the Yorkshire Dales – the food in the pub there was excellent. The gardens at Parcevall Hall Gardens near Appletreewick were beautiful and well worth visiting. Our visit coincided with the Pennine Spring Music Festival so we enjoyed a very nice concert with a varied choral and instrumental programme at Heptonstall Church.’ (Lorna, Derek, Tim and Rob, Cheshire, Gloucestershire and Atlanta, Georgia, May 2017)

‘Thank you for a wonderful stay in Elmet Farmhouse. The welcome was fabulous with fresh home-made scones and beautiful cut flowers fresh from your lovely garden. The cottage has everything: fabulous interior decor; wonderful views; brilliant walks straight from the door. The walk to Haworth was a treat – even with thunderstorms! Great location for discovering Hebden Bridge, Haworth, Ted Hughes country; and everything you could need for a lovely stay. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the garden in the evening watching the birds and looking out for the deer. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and for giving us such useful information on the local area. We will definitely be back!’ (Wendy, Simon, Becky, Jake and Ethan, London, May 2017)

‘Hardcastle family enjoyed this beautiful house as a base for completing the Hardcastle 24 race [at Hardcastle Crags]. The house is so large and yet still cosy. It had everything we needed and much more. An excellent stay.’ (Gemma, Olive, Kathy, Gareth, Yvonne and Brian, Swindon, Wiltshire, May 2017)

‘A huge thank you for making our stay at Elmet Farmhouse so comfortable. We had a fine stay, catching up with family and friends and acquainting myself again with a house I knew so well as a child.’ (Anne and Paul, Oxford, May 2017)

‘This is a very special house in an outstanding location. The owners have lavished great care on restoration of the building and every detail of the attractive and interesting 20th century design interiors; beautiful textile hangings, interesting ceramics and glass, even vintage board games! What’s really special though is their passion for the area and commitment to ensuring guests get the most out of their visit with an amazing amount of knowledgeable and helpful information and interesting books in the house. No ordinary holiday cottage. Highly recommended.’ (Review on Sawday’s from Melanie, Dorchester, April 2017)

‘A wonderful week in this very special house. Thank you for making us so welcome and for sharing your enthusiasm for this beautiful and fascinating part of the world. Great walks right from the door.’ (Melanie, Peter, Florence, Jack and Matilda, Dorchester, April 2017)

‘A very well equipped house with wonderful views. A very enjoyable stay.’ (Elaine, Paul, Richard, Amy and Catherine, Cambridge, April 2017)

‘Loved the house, surroundings and local area. Lots to see and do. Thanks and best wishes.’ (Siobhan, Alexis, Fiona and Jenny, Suffolk, Nottingham and the Wirral, March 2017)

‘A fantastic stay! Beautiful views. Thank you so much.’ (Rory, Hannah, Lizzie, Nathan, Martha and Hunter, London, March 2017)

‘Thank you for a lovely stay.’ (Mark, Caroline and Daniel, Oxford, February 2017)

‘Our second February half term in a row. We love the house and have also fallen for Hebden Bridge and the beautiful surrounding landscape. We even had enough snow for a snowman at the start of our week. I’m sure we’ll be back. Many thanks.’ (Aaron, Laura, Tabitha, Reuben, Sylvie and Mark, London, February 2017)

‘Had the most wonderful stay at Elmet Farmhouse! Felt so welcomed and truly relaxed in this beautiful home. We can’t thank Lesley enough and will be sure to come back again.’ (Mark and Helen, Sheffield, January 2017)

‘We’ve had a lovely stay at Elmet and are already planning our next trip up! What a fabulous location and cosy house. It was lovely being here with the snow settled – felt like the north pole. Definitely not long enough and still so much to do here so we’ll be back soon.’ (Carol, David, Katie and Millie, London, January 2017)

‘An excellent place to stay. Well equipped, tastefully decorated, comfortable beds. Freshly home made scones and jam awaited us on our arrival. A kind gesture which we really appreciated after arriving late on a Friday evening after a long drive from London. Additionally, the house has every information you could ever want on the local area.’ (Review on Sawday’s from Carol, London, January 2017)

‘Elmet is ‘sublime’ indeed. A truly beautiful place in a stunning location. Excellent well-stocked facilities, clean and warm; Lesley is always available to respond to any demands and she provides the warmest of greetings with some welcome refreshments on arrival. Also the range and depth of information for the visitor is exemplary. Maps and guidebooks and painstakingly detailed and invaluable tips full of local knowledge.’ (Review on Sawday’s from Tim , London, January 2017)

‘So glad we have returned here to this special place. Thank you we have all loved it.’ (Tim and Gill, London, January 2017)

‘Elmet Farmhouse has the most perfect location with every amenity you could wish for. Comfort, style, presentation and cleanliness is second to none. You have provided the perfect Yorkshire experience for my Canadian family and allowed me to relive my youth! I’m sat here writing in your visitors’ book looking out of the historic windows at the most amazing view of my childhood stomping ground. Congratulations for providing such a high standard and thanks for a great Christmas!’ (Chris and Grant, London, December 2016)

Simply a stunning, beautiful, immaculately presented property with a most accommodating and thoughtful host – we traveled through Europe for 5 weeks and Elmet was easily and comprehensively the best place we stayed. The home has charm and character in spades but is also equipped to a very high standard with everything thought of and more – we could have stayed much, much longer and never been bored. Our family of 5 had more than enough room and 6 would fit just as easily – the property is easy to access from Hebden Bridge and has wonderful views. Highly recommended!’  (Review on Sawday’s from Phil, Brisbane, Australia, December 2016)

We absolutely love how you have created this beautiful cottage. Staying here was the highlight of our trip. Home away from home. You have thought of everything! Thank you for allowing us to stay in this beautiful cottage and beautiful part of the world. ‘  (Phil, Trish, Grace, Emily and Samuel, Queensland, Australia, December 2016)

‘Thank you so much for our stay in your lovely cottage. It was just perfect! We’ve had a really good weekend and really appreciated the accommodation. The kitchen is really well equipped and everywhere is warm and cosy. We loved the woodburner. Thank you for all the books and magazines and your kind welcome tray. ‘  (Jude, Viv, Mags, Penni and Sue, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, October 2016)

‘Total pleasure to stay here; such attention to detail that we were warm, intrigued, equipped, comfortable and well-informed about things to do. It’s not often you stay in a house whose design has been curated by an expert in the field of mid 20th-century decor, and it really showed. Our children absolutely loved the bagatelle! Bravo!’ (Bruno, Oxford, October 2016)

‘We have all had a wonderful time here. We have loved exploring the area and visiting Hebden Bridge. The stunning views from the cottage, along with the beautiful decoration inside, have made for a magical time. The moment we arrived we knew we were going to love it here: scones and homemade jam laid out on a tray; all the beautiful lamps lit; and then Lesley appearing and teaching the children to play bagatelle! Thank you so much for everything.‘  (Emily, Bruno, Jasper, Lydia, Daniel and Ivo, Oxford, October 2016)

‘We stayed for 2 weeks adn would have loved to stay longer. It lived up to everything on the website. The house was warm and comfortable and we loved the views, the village with its strong independent community, the history and the walks along the canal and out into moorland. Perhaps the strongest recommendation came from our Australian friend who stayed with us for a weekend at Elmet. After visiting several European capitals, London and the Scottish Highlands, he considered his Elmet experience the highlight of his trip. We can’t wait to return. ‘  (Review on Sawday’s from Keith, Melbourne, Australia, October 2016)

‘This  has been such an enjoyable two weeks for so many reasons. Staying here without a car and using our feet or the bus at the end of the drive was a joy. Hebden Bridge is a terrific little town. All the people, including the local independent shopkeepers, were so helpful. And then there has been the calm and restorative luxury of Elmet. A magnificent country cottage with uplifting views every moment in every passing phase of weather. And all topped off by Lesley’s kindness and real care, but without intrusion. Everything was perfect!‘  (Keith and Debby, Melbourne, Australia, September-October 2016)

A wonderful holiday in a perfect setting. Thank you. We will be back to this stunning part of the world.‘  (Tim, Angelina, Lucy and Hannah, Cornwall and Western Australia, September 2016)

Warm welcome. Fantastic farmhouse that met all our needs. Really enjoyed waking up to a view every morning. We enjoyed visiting surrounding towns and villages. Thank you for all your attention to detail.‘  (Liz, Lars, David, Astrid, Alistair and Edward, Winchester and St Andrews, August 2016)

Lovely tidy clean and well-stocked house. Thank you for the warm welcome. The scones and jam were lovely. We will be spreading the word about your beautiful cottage and how practical it has been for our break.‘  (Fiona, Peter, Bethany, Thomas and Paddy, London, August 2016)

‘We’ve had a wonderful stay. Thanks for the lovely scones and hospitality! You’ve decorated beautifully and we’ve been so comfortable. There are great walks minutes away, or a short drive by car, so we were very happy with the location. We hope to visit again!‘  (Roma, Badri, Badrinath, Rekha and Padma, London and Edinburgh, August 2016)

We had a wonderful stay. The setting views are exceptional but Lesley’s attention to detail is what really makes this place stand out. Lesley has been meticulous in designing a cosy abode, but is also meticulous in ensuring every whim is catered for and every need met. A warm welcome with scones and homemade jam was delightful, as well as the thoughtfulness to leave out the relevant books and guides pertaining to our particular interests.’  (Sophie, Lee and Ruby, Suffolk, August 2016)

‘So glad I found your place – one of the best holidays of my life. Thank you for the opportunity to stay here. It has been wonderful. All the things I most enjoy – poetry, design, modern furniture – and the backdrop of the sceneryA wonderful view with a wonderful house attached. We had a great time exploring the area and the many interesting aspects of the cottage.’  (Kathleen and Richard, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, August 2016)

‘We have enjoyed a great week here in Pecket Well. Your house and the design of it is a pleasure to spend a holiday week in. Just being welcomed with scones was the first happy little moment. We will surely recommend our Danish friends and families to visit the “Danish House” outside Hebden Bridge, Yorkshire – and maybe we will come back some other day.’  (Inge, Laura, Asta, Agnes and Per, Denmark, July 2016)

‘What a magnificent place to stay. A glorious part of the country in a glorious house. Everything is “just right” and it’s the attention to detail in every aspect of the accommodation that makes Elmet a special place. I’ve never stayed in somewhere where everything has been thought of. It makes “holidaying” so much more pleasurable. The views are magnificent, so much so that I found myself simply staring across the valley to Stoodley Pike and Heptonstall church on numerous occasions. The cottage is fantastically well equipped kitchen-wise and the interior decoration and furnishing is a joy. I’d recommend wholeheartedly.’ (Alastair, Beverley and Gregory, Wendover, Buckinghamshire, July 2016)

‘Lesley made us feel extremely welcome before we’d even arrived.There were delightful fresh scones for us on arrival and the house was immaculately presented. The property itself was full of beautiful furniture and had everything we could possibly have needed. A lovingly curated selection of interior classics!  Lesley’s love for the surrounding area is passed on through very informative walking guides and books. Thank you for all the wonderful information and for such a wonderful stay. We have two children who were delighted with the twin room and who didn’t want to leave the house! We caught up with friends and have made many warm memories with our children in this house, as well as in the fantastic surrounding countryside.’  (Clarissa, Jake, Reuben and Samuel, Edinburgh, July 2016)

‘We have had a truly wonderful week and I can’t believe it has gone so quickly. We really loved staying at Elmet and would love to come back.’  (Alison and Ian, Bath, June 2016)

‘Thank you so much for allowing us to use your lovely house, and for all your kind and helpful advice.’  (Martin, Olivia, Takuma, Charlie and Isabelle, Oxford, June 2016)

‘We’ve had an amazing weekend with long walks through the valley, bluebell meadows, waterfalls and lush green forest to Hebden Bridge. And today we walked across the fields and moors to Haworth. Glorious country and lovely to return to this beautiful comfortable farmhouse.’  (Julie, Sarah, Pam, Kasia, Juliet, Mad and Sheila, London, May 2016)

‘What a lovely cottage: spacious, beautifully furnished, comfortable beds, gorgeous views and great hiking trails all around. Lesley even welcomed us with delicious homemade scones! I would definitely return to Elmet Farmhouse.’ (Kasia, London,  May 2016)

‘Elmet Farmhouse is exceptional. I felt privileged to bask in the immaculate comfort and cosy, mid-century chic of this beautifully restored, appointed and designed farmhouse. Lesley was warmly welcoming and helpful, pointing us toward walks in the stunning surrounding countryside. Keen readers will appreciate the literary connections of the area and the farmhouse’s small, well-chosen collection of relevant books, printed and ‘spoken’. All that, and freshly baked scones and homemade jams, too. Grateful.’ (Sheila, London, May 2016)

‘What an inspirational place to stay. We will never forget the sublime views across the valley. We wish we could wake up to them every morning. This has been the perfect spot to explore a remarkable part of England.’  (Stuart, Vicki and Oscar, Salford, April 2016)

‘Truly memorable in every sense – literary, painterly, historically, “the great-outdoorsy”, exploratory. New walks and friendliness from everyone we have come into contact with.’  (Rosemary and Desmond, Perth, Scotland, April 2016)

‘Our visit to Elmet Farmhouse has been lovely. We have found the local people so friendly and helpful. What a delightful farmhouse, cosy and so inventively designed. I love the style of the windows with their mullions… and the views of the valley with the changing light.’  (Anna, Llanglydwen, Wales, April 2016)

‘A beautiful farmhouse, beautifully restored and decorated, extremely comfortable & well-equipped, with fantastic views. Lesley couldn’t be more helpful, advising on walks, and what a fantastic collection of local information. And her home made scones are to die for! We’ll certainly be coming back next year; much more to explore in this wonderful area, and it’s a great house to come back to after a day’s walking. ‘  (Nick and Marie, Derbyshire, April 2016)

‘Wonderful and relaxing stay in beautiful, peaceful and stylish Elmet Farmhouse… Fell in love with Elmet Farmhouse from the photos on your very useful and informative website – but how wonderful to arrive and discover the real thing is even better! The views are spectacular and the farmhouse itself has been so creatively and lovingly renovated with every detail and comfort provided for. You really have thought of everything. There’s so much to see and do here that it feels as though we’ve only scratched the surface with trips into the Dales, Hebden Bridge, Heptonstall, Harrogate, Grassington, Haworth and the Brontë Parsonage. Next visit we hope to do more walks and see more of the lovely scenery.’  (Annabel and Kirsty, London, March 2016)

‘I felt very spoilt staying in such lovely surroundings and enjoyed seeing your “collections” in use, beautifully displayed and loved.’  (Diana, Devon, March 2016)

‘A wonderful stay in a beautifully restored house. Very well equipped and a warm welcome to go with the spring sunshine.’  (Graham and Elizabeth, London, March 2016)

‘We’ve had a fabulous week here at Elmet. Gorgeous cottage – and such a well-equipped kitchen ( a pleasure to cook in). We’ve had some beautiful weather – clear sunny days. Perfect for our hikes up to Top Withins, Heptonstall, Hardcastle Crags… Hope to return to the area soon. We’ll be back here at the farmhouse happily, unless we manage to buy one of the wonderful derelict farms we spotted on our walks! Thanks so much.’ (Laura, Aaron, Tabitha, Reuben and Sylvie, London, February 2016)

‘Another spectacular stay with exhilarating walks in the snowy landscape. Can’t wait to come back soon.’  (Daru and Stuart, Harden, West Yorkshire, February 2016)

‘This house is a joy! You will be inspired! As a holiday house, it certainly couldn’t be better.’  (Liz, Gavin and Joe, February 2016)

‘Thank you again for your welcoming hospitality and for the experience of staying at Elmet. It still remains our favourite accommodation throughout our trip. The girls fell in love with it and West Yorkshire, so I know each of us will return at some time. (Vince, Jane, Amy and Emily, Canberra, Australia, February 2016)

‘We have had wonderful walks and enjoyed the beautiful house that has been so skilfully designed. Our whole visit has been a treat. (Tim and Gill, London, New Year, January 2016)

‘A fantastic Christmas week in a very special place. Thank you so much for your wonderfully warm and festive welcome. We’ve stayed cosy and warm. Great walks between the fields, lovely log burner to return to, and excellent games. Perfect. (Jackie, Peter, Tommy, Annie and Rowan, Penarth, Wales, Christmas, December 2015)

‘What a memorable stay we had at Elmet. Absolutely gorgeous. Everything was perfect. To return after a cold winter’s day exploring this stunning area to the warmth and comfort of this beautiful farmhouse was wonderful. We stayed 4 nights and really did not want to leave. Our teenage girls fell in love with Elmet. We could not have wished for a more lovely stay in Yorkshire. Thank you. (Vince, Jane, Amy and Emily, Canberra, Australia, December 2015)

‘We have been so fortunate to be here for a special time, preparing for my son’s wedding. This was the loveliest place we could possibly have found for this time together as a family! Thank you for everything. (Frances and Tim, Penzance, Cornwall, December 2015)

‘As many have said, the house is gorgeous, beautifully restored and full of lovely things, warm and completely comfy. We had shocking weather, but still had a wonderful time! Squeezed in one gorgeous walk and otherwise enjoyed Saltaire, local pubs and snoozing in front of the fire.’ (Amanda, Lynne and Nigel, London, November 2015)

‘Thank you for a fantastic stay. Lovely cottage in a great location – perfect for a sophisticated Hen weekend. Walked around Hardcastle Crags, had lunch at the Stubbing Wharf pub and a lot of fun at the cottage in the cosy living room. Welcome scones were delicious! We all hope to return.’ (Becky, Birmingham; Jess, Stef, Rachel, Eleanor and Hannah, November 2015)

‘My partner and I stayed at this gorgeous house with a party including two children under two. Lesley went out of her way to provide us with the necessities two small children require, like a cot, high chair and some unbreakable bowls and plates. The house was light and spacious while at the same time begin wonderfully cos, and the views – quite breathtaking. Everyone had a fantastic stay and we couldn’t recommend it more highly.’ (Eva, Andrea, Lucille, Eleanor, Lien, Katja and Rita, Hasselt, Belgium, November 2015)

‘It’s been a time of restorative healing, re-connecting with friends and getting back to everything that’s important and life-affirming. We couldn’t have done it in a better place. Thank you so much. We hope to be back again soon.’ (Jen, London; Bill and Morry, Hebden Bridge; and Rachel, November 2015

‘Six ladies on a girlie weekend were amazed by this beautiful house and equally fantastic views. Our three-night stay was far too short, and we were sad we had to leave. The weather was very kind to us, recording the hottest November day on record. We walked from the cottage down the fields to Hardcastle Crags, stopped for refreshments at Gibson Mill Cafe and carried on up to Heptonstall Church – the one you can see in the distance. Our evening meal at the Robin Hood Inn was delicious.’ (Julie, Oldham, Lancashire; Suzanne, Alison, Sally, Dee and Joan, November 2015)

‘Had a great time staying at Elmet. Very nicely appointed, and scones and rhubarb and strawberry jam a nice touch. During the week we visited Hardcastle Crags with its beautiful autumn colours. Went riding at Hebden Bridge Equestrian Centre, took the train to York, visited the Comedy Festival at Halifax. All very good and something for everyone. Had some great meals out, including home-cooked food at the Robin Hood Inn down the road. Many thanks for a great stay.’ (Steve, Penny, Zoë and Alex, Guildford, Surrey, October 2015)

‘This lovely house held us for 3 nights. It was cosy and welcoming with every mod con and design delights everywhere. Walking superb.’ (Anne and Allan, Morpeth, Northumberland, October 2015)

‘We don’t know where to start… This cottage is way beyond the standard set by the Landmark Trust or any other rental accommodation. Also, it is a privilege to be able to enjoy your collections of furniture and textiles. The local information provided couldn’t be bettered, and prompted some wonderful walks. We all enjoyed every minute.’ (Alison, Ludlow, Shropshire; Alastair and Niall, Fintry, Scotland, October 2015)

‘A lovely house with postcard-worthy views. From your pictures on the website we had high expectations of Elmet Farmhouse and we were not disappointed. It goes without saying that we were blown away by the views but the house, too, was a delight. We found the farmhouse extremely comfortable for two small families, and the thoughtful touches, such as the unexpected scones, were very welcoming. We  were very pleased to find an incredibly well-equipped kitchen. Our short 3-night stay was definitely too brief and we hope to be back again when we visit family and friends here in the future. The house is very well-appointed and would make the perfect base for a longer stay.’ (Julie, Sam, Imogen and Dexter, Melbourne, Australia, October 2015)

‘We’ve had a wonderful stay at Elmet. It is such a beautiful place, with a range of stunning views you could never grow tired of. The decor is strikingly stylish. We felt comfortable here from the moment we walked through the door. We hope to  be back again soon so that we can take full advantage f your great library.  Thanks for a wonderful stay.’ (Jessica and Justin, Newcastle upon Tyne, September 2015)

‘What a wonderful break we have had here at Elmet Farmhouse. We have loved every minute of our stay here and can’t wait to return. The views from the house are breathtakingly beautiful and very evocative. The farmhouse itself, with its understated beauty and elegance, provided us with all the comforts we needed for our stay.’ (Kirstie, Robert, Lois and Tristan, Beverley, East Riding, Yorkshire, September 2015)

‘Had a fantastic week at the farmhouse. Views are stunning, walks are beautiful and to top it all, brilliant weather! Well-equipped kitchen to prepare hearty meals in. We have managed to pack so much into this week because of the lovely weather and being able to relax at the end of the day.’ (Christine, Robert, Kevin, Belinda and Stephanie, Herne Bay, Kent, August 2015)

‘Thank you for a truly wonderful few days in your beautiful, cosy and adorable farmhouse. The views from the window are stunning. Starting the log fire whilst watching old movies has been delightful, creating such a romantic atmosphere! Very well-equipped, beautifully designed and comfortable. You have clearly put so much time, care and love into this lovely farmhouse. Wholeheartedly recommend this stay! (Minal, Tara, Karan and Phatu, Oxford and India, August 2015)

‘Had a very relaxing, enjoyable stay. The facilities are lovely and it is great to have so much information on hand. Would definitely come back to this lovely cottage. An all round lovely stay!’ (Mark, Julia and Molly, New South Wales, Australia, August 2015)

‘Really enjoyed our stay. Such a fantastic view! Comfortable beds and good cooking facilities. Wish we could stay for the fortnight!‘ (Spencer and S-Johnson families, Stevenage, Hertfordshire, August 2015)

‘We have had the most fantastic stay. Great suggestions for walks and days out. After just over a month here, it feels like we are leaving home.‘ (Tina, Pelle, Isla and Eskil, Stockholm, Sweden, July 2015)

‘We really enjoyed our visit to Yorkshire. Thank you for your hospitality. We’ll be back! Will definitely pass on details to family and friends.  ‘ (Rachel and Andy, Hastings, East Sussex, July 2015)

‘This is one of the best appointed places we have ever stayed, with everything available that one could need. It also has the most information about the area, sorted and catalogued in such a way as to delight the hearts of the two librarians staying here.’ (Frances and Trevor, Saffron Walden, Essex, Helen and Brian, Pembrokeshire, June 2015)

‘Perfect in every way – the welcome, the view, the attention to detail – all so appreciated at the end of our second day on the Pennine Way. Glorious weather. Wonderful haven. Thank you. ‘ (Tish, Jane and Sarah, Tarporley, Cheshire and Switzerland,, June 2015)

‘Thanks a lot for having my family here. They had a fab time.’ (Jana, Hebden Bridge, June 2015)

‘We have had a memorable visit to Elmet.  A warm welcome, breathtaking views, everything here you could possibly need. The walk to Hardcastle Crags was wonderful. Here is a place you would want to come back to time and time again.’ (Jackie, Michael, Mark, Lauren, Robert and Mati, Retford, Nottinghamshire, June 2015)

‘We had a lovely time at Elmet.  Throughly enjoyed your beautiful home.  The decoration was most appealing and enjoyed the information packs telling the history of the building and the books were most informative. We would love to visit again some time.’ (Christina and Colin, May 2015)

‘Wonderful view. It has been a real joy to be here. The house is marvellously warm and clean. The store of helpful information has made such a difference to our stay. It is all wonderfully organised. Special time with Ted Hughes has been particularly significant and is the re-beginning of a study of his work.‘ (Shirley, Didsbury, Manchester, May 2015)

‘We have loved our time and experiences here. The house is so lovely and in the heart of a wonderful area. My daughter says the house has “good bones”.’ (Julie J., May 2015)

‘No “ordinary” holiday let! Superb accommodation, beautifully decorated and furnished. Rabbits, pheasants, bats and cyclists in great profusion. A truly memorable stay. ‘ (John and Rita, Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, and Christina and Anthony, London – for the Tour de Yorkshire, May 2015)

‘I had a wonderful time. It was such a pleasure to see all your creative  handiwork at the farmhouse. The tours to Heptonstall churchyard and  Hardcastle Crags were a breathtaking experience. I felt a fundamental connection between the dwellings, the climate  and the land, so unique and authentic. So full of character and aged. And the River of Mist was all part of it…’  (Eileen, Montreal, Canada, April 2015)

‘This was our first visit to Yorkshire with its picturesque countryside, historic packhorse trails and the quaint town of Hebden Bridge, teeming with unique and independent shops and pubs. This beautifully renovated historic farmhouse is a destination in its own right, with striking views through restored stone mullion windows, combined interestingly with authentic mid-century decor. Plenty of room and loads of amenities, including a super well-equipped kitchen, spacious bathrooms and private garden overlooking the breathtaking valley. It was a fabulous place to stay! ‘ (Claire and Brian, North Carolina, US, April 2015)

‘For us, Elmet Farmhouse and its choice of furnishing and decoration was an absolute delight. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The scones and homemade strawberry jam were such a welcoming surprise. With so much still to do, we shall be back. ‘ (Jean and Ray, Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, April 2015)

‘We have had a fantastic family weekend (made even better by the weather)! Excellent house – cosy, warm, stunning views, all mod cons. Everything we could possibly need was provided. Wonderful fabrics and books to peruse. We very much hope to return. ‘ (Liz and Tony, Nottingham, April 2015)

‘Thank you for making us so welcome. The children absolutely loved the games! ‘(Charlotte, Charlotte and Claire + 4 kids and baby Arthur, March 2015)

‘We’ve really enjoyed our stay at Elmet Farmhouse. The cottage was very well equipped and it was warm and cosy. Lesley’s scones and jam were delicious! What a perfect place to spend fun quality time with old friends. ‘ (Jules, Suz, Jayne and Ally, Merseyside, March 2015)

Elmet Farmhouse is a beautiful place to stay, with everything we needed catered for. The owner’s attention to detail was second to none. I would highly recommend Elmet, whether you want a relaxing home from home, or if taking advantage of the wonderful walks. It’s a great place to come back to.’ (Julie, Liverpool, March 2015)

‘The farmhouse was so lovely and the views outstanding. We had a lovely family gathering. Everything was so welcoming and we will return.’ (Catherine, Lizzie, Graham, Margaret and Pat, London, Hull and Rochdale, March 2015)

‘Elmet Farmhouse was exactly what we wanted. I work in the design world and knew Lesley’s work as a design writer and curator. I was not surprised when I saw her attention to detail in the refurbishment of the farmhouse. I was brought up locally (so need no persuasion about the beauty of the place) and needed a treat location for my family to gather and it has worked so well. We really enjoyed the lounge and kitchen for a family lunch and some walks and trips to Hebden. Lesley is hospitable and welcoming. We (ages 82 to 19) all rated it highly.’ (Catherine, London, March 2015)

‘We have had a great time here. The stay was very pleasant and relaxing in such a perfect cottage. So much information about almost everything. We had some great hikes. Really a place to come back! Thanks very much. (Family van der Sloot, Holland, February 2015)

‘A very pleasant stay. The farmhouse is lovely. Very comfortable. We felt very much at home here. Impressed with the cottage and what it has to offer. Found the advice of what to do out and about interesting. Enjoyed using the local bus – very convenient to have a bus-stop at the end of the driveway. Also enjoyed a really lovely day on the Worth Valley Railway.’ (Mark, Ricci, Pauline, Aaron, Eloise and Amelia, February 2015)

‘Beautiful cottage! You’ve thought of everything, so stress-free stay. Fantastic manual and walks. Will certainly recommend to others.’ 

(Alison, Devon, February 2015)

‘A very pleasant stay. Lots of good advice about local walks. Nice and warm!’

(John and Sheila, Dorset, February 2015)

‘We’ve had a lovely time at Elmet. A warm welcome awaited us with scones and homemade jam – delicious! Spent quality family time celebrating our son’s 27th birthday, walking and enjoying the fantastic scenery the surrounding area has to offer. Thank you very much. Hope to see you again.’

(Linda, Northumberland, December 2014)

‘As our first Christmas visit to Elmet Farmhouse comes to an end and we look out through the front window and admire the beautiful view of snow-covered hills and fields in bright sunshine, we look forward to returning many times in the future.’

(Lorna and Derek, Altrincham, Cheshire, December 2014)

‘How wonderful to arrive at Elmet Farmhouse after a scenic drive on a blustery December afternoon and step into warmth, welcome and a visual feast in this beautiful house with its skilfully styled interiors. How beautiful to draw back the curtains to the amazing views and changing light over the moors the following morning. This is a lovely home to visit at any time of year, with Hebden Bridge a delightful place to browse. A perfect location for  a  December break.’

(Susan and Shane, Salisbury, Wiltshire, December 2014)

‘A tranquil stay in a beautiful place. We can’t wait to come back! Such a lovely atmosphere. Beautiful views. What a fantastic place.’ 

(Daru and Stuart, Harden, West Yorkshire, November 2014)

Comments are closed.